Kate Scanlon Award 2016

In consultation with the NAHSSS Reference Group and Kate's parents, SARRAH initiated an award (for Tasmanian scholars only) in memory of an undergraduate scholar from Tasmania, Kate Scanlon, who died in an overseas accident in 2011.

Kate, then 21, was studying physiotherapy at Monash University and had been receiving the NAHSSS Undergraduate scholarship since 2010. The inaugural Kate Scanlon Award for funding in 2013 was presented on 21 September 2012 at the 2012 SARRAH National Conference held in Launceston.

In April 2015, eligible NAHSSS undergraduate scholarship recipients from Tasmania studying in an accredited/approved Australian undergraduate or entry level allied health course in 2016 were again invited to apply. SARRAH announced at the 2015 SARRAH Summit that Claire Johns (Chiropractic) was selected as the 2015 recipient.

Claire was presented with her award at the Summit held in Canberra ACT.

Left to right:  Claire Johns (Kate Scanlon Award Winner)
and Senator Fiona Nash, Minister for Rural Health


Back to top